Fuji Instax film coming out super dark - problem???

BunnyCharmer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been shooting Fuji Instax Mini Instant Film on my Diana F+ with an instant back and it's coming out super dark. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. Some of the pix are lighter but there seems to be no rhyme or reason. I'm doing double exposure on most of them, playing with it so I can see the results right away since I'm new at this and not sure what works and what doesn't. I love the pictures I'm getting, but wish they were lighter. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

p.s. I just checked and it's 800 speed...sure that will probably make a difference...

Last edited:
It would help if you mentioned what you are shooting and under what lighting conditions.

For example, "I am trying to shoot a black cat in a coal bin at night with available light", etc.

Agreed. More information is needed. Also post some examples if you can.

What are the settings on the Diana? How adjustable are they? Have you shot Instax film before and it was fine, but now there's a problem? Or is this the first time you're trying the instant back and this is what you're getting?

It would help if you mentioned what you are shooting and under what lighting conditions.

For example, "I am trying to shoot a black cat in a coal bin at night with available light", etc.

F22 and 1/500 iso100 should work perfect :wink:

I have a Diana but not an instant film back; I have one of the Polaroid 300 cameras that uses the mini Instax film and that camera is basically auto. I know the Diana doesn't have too many different settings, have you tried shooting the same subject/scene with each different setting when using the instant film?