New to Film! Why do all my darks/blacks look so hazy? What am I doing wrong?

HaleyL22

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello!

I am a novice when it comes to film and photography, just having some fun. Recently, all my photos have been a bit disappointing, and I am looking for some advice!

I am shooting on an Argus A-Four I found in a thrift shop, (and will probably get a new camera soon) and I am shooting on 200 speed film 35mm color film, and I believe its Kodak. Photos I have taken with this camera and film before now have turned out pretty nice! At least for me. On both my recent rolls, I am noticed all my blacks and darks are super washed out and hazy. (Will attach files) The only change I have made would be figuring out how to change the speed on the camera (lol). Instead of shooting at 50 speed it's at 200 now. I feel like because of this I am simply not choosing the right f-stop for my shots. If this is the case, can anyone tell me what to avoid or what way to shift towards when picking my f-stop? I thought I had a grasp but now I am not sure.

These photos were some that actually turned out but have the washed out look, compared to some of the others they aren't too bad T.T I know this camera is not the best for shooting inside and in low light--as I have found out the hard way--but I have gotten some betters shots previously indoors, so I am wondering what is happening to the contrast here.

I can also post a reply with some of my older shots that have better contrast and exposure if that helps!

Thanks all! Looking forward to your help :)

Best,
Haley

Attachments

• 000047740017-small.jpg
    000047740017-small.jpg
    452.7 KB · Views: 65
  • 000047740021-small.jpg
    000047740021-small.jpg
    498.9 KB · Views: 59
  • 000047740027-small.jpg
    000047740027-small.jpg
    405 KB · Views: 56