Gaf L-CM repair

hotdogst

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all,

New to the site, so thanks in advance for whatever help you can give me. I picked up a Gaf L-CM today from Goodwill, but missed an obvious issue with the camera: the piece the lens screws into is loose on one side and lifts about a quarter inch away from the body of the camera (I'm sure there's better lingo but I'm new to this sort of stuff so unfamiliar with the jargon). I'll put some pictures below to hopefully illustrate what I'm talking about.

In the little research I've done, apparently the Gaf L-CM is a rebadging of the Chinon CM. The Argus CR-1 is possibly a rebadge as well.

So my question is, does anyone know how this piece is supposed to be connected to the camera? There are no apparent screws or clips, it doesn't seem to slide in any direction for removal, and it definitely is not molded to the camera body in any way. I know this isn't a high end camera but I like to play with old stuff so I thought I'd try to get it up and running again. Thanks for any help you can provide!

The yellow crusty stuff is residue from tape that was holding it together, the tape was mostly under the case the camera came in so I saw it and then immediately forgot to peel it off to check why it was there. Here's the "lens receptor" lifting from the body of the camera:
IMG_3886.JPG

Pushed back in where it should be:
IMG_3888.JPG

The other side, snug against the body:
IMG_3887.JPG

And a couple bonus pics:
IMG_3889.JPG

IMG_3890.JPG

Attachments

• IMG_3886.JPG
    IMG_3886.JPG
    1.8 MB · Views: 146
  • IMG_3887.JPG
    IMG_3887.JPG
    1.7 MB · Views: 117
Just from the look of it I think the screw holding this together would come from the body to this lens flange mount assembly. That screw would probable be behind the shutter mechanism, but I would take a look from that side to see if there was access.