Gear upgrade for my D90

rgribbons

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am an enthusiastic amateur shooting with a D90.

I love shooting street and macro pictures along with family portraits.

My current lens line up is ;
Tamron 17-50 f2.8 XR DI II SP (it's hardly off my camera)
Nikor 70-300 f4.5-5.6
Tamron 90 mm f2.8 macro
Nikor 50mm f1.8

I do a little landscape and low light/ night shooting and would like to develop this more along with the above. Am I missing something or should I consider upgrading anything to bring things on a bit more?

Last edited:
Noitlookslike youhaveeverything wellinhandexcept formaybeorusing punctuationandspacesproperly whenyoutype.

One item I added to my D90 long ago that I appreciate each time I use it is the MB-D80 grip. It holds two EN-EL3e batteries so no real worries about running out of power. If I do it also comes with a tray that will hold standard AA batteries. It also duplicates the command dials and shutter release rotated 90 degrees so no twisting the hand to shoot portrait mode. Finally I feel like it balances the camera better when shooting with a long lens. I wasn't sure I'd like it until I got it and now I've never taken it off my camera.

Noitlookslike youhaveeverything wellinhandexcept formaybeorusing punctuationandspacesproperly whenyoutype.
Yea thanks for the helpful comment!This is not how I wrote it. I had it all on different lines but it didn't come out that way.

One item I added to my D90 long ago that I appreciate each time I use it is the MB-D80 grip. It holds two EN-EL3e batteries so no real worries about running out of power. If I do it also comes with a tray that will hold standard AA batteries. It also duplicates the command dials and shutter release rotated 90 degrees so no twisting the hand to shoot portrait mode. Finally I feel like it balances the camera better when shooting with a long lens. I wasn't sure I'd like it until I got it and now I've never taken it off my camera.