general questions

motophoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am starting from scratch. I have no real knowledge of Potography, digital or other wise. I was hoping that someone would remember being in my position, and giving any opinions or help with this. Very excited to get going, and looking forward to working with all!

Well i'd be happy to give any film related advice. If you'd like to go the film route as opposed to digital, here's a quick run down of some important things to get you started.

1) Film is critical.
a) Speed: It's rated by speed in terms of an ISO/ASA number. The lower the number, the more light it takes to expose the film. ISO 50 will take much more light to expose than ISO 400. The time difference is more of less exponential. For example, with ISO 800 film, if I want to take a night shot, I might open the shutter for 45 seconds. With ISO 50, i'll have to open it for about 3 minutes. The lower the speed, the less grain. Lower speed films also show more saturation. They'll produce richer colors, or deeper, more contrasty black and white shots. Ilford is probably the brand of choice for black and white. Fuji slide film is probably the film of choice for color.

2)Shutter: Is the thing that opens in order to expose the film to the light. Most cameras use what's called a focal plane shutter, which is basically a piece of plastic or metal inside the camera body. It slides open vertically or horizontally in order to expose the film to light. Then there are leaf shutters. Leaf shutters are built into some lenses and are made of "leaves" of metal or plastic in a spiral pattern, that open in a circular fashion when you trip the shutter. Whether you use a focal plane or leaf shutter makes no difference unless you're doing flash work. I can go into more detail about that if you'd like.