Getting into Wedding Photography!

kriswilson819

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello! This is my first post!
Up until now, I've only done portrait photography and I REALLY want get into wedding photography this year. I'd like to shadow or even second shoot AT LEAST one wedding before advertising as a wedding photographer.

I've contacted photographers in my area and even a family member who is a photographer, and no one will get back to me; I feel like I'm stuck in limbo! I don't know if they are avoiding me or if they are just too busy to deal with me right now.

I've had two calls this month asking if I do weddings. I had to tell them "I'm starting wedding photography this year but, to be honest, you'd be my first wedding." "okay, thank you, bye."

I'd feel bad telling someone "Yes, I do weddings" as if I'm a pro at it, when I've never done a wedding. Now what do I do? Do I advertise that I'll do my first # of weddings for free and they only pay for prints. Or charge only for my time? For my first year, my planned package was: $500- 4 hours of shooting and atleast 100 edited photos on a USB. But now I'm not so sure what to do....any advice?

Last edited by a moderator:
I'd feel bad telling someone "Yes, I do weddings" as if I'm a pro at it, when I've never done a wedding.

You are not a wedding photographer and you'd be committing malpractice, as it were. Advice? Get some experience before you hang out your shingle as a wedding pro.

NOTE: If you search the term "wedding" and "advice" in this forum, you'll find 100's of prior threads on this topic. My advice above is the bottom line on those former threads. Don't mean to sound harsh, but it is what it is.

Good luck.