Getting ready for NYC...

MAtheBanker

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello all, I'm new here, so pardon me if I'm doing anything wrong! :blushing:

I bought a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ35 a little over a week ago in preparation for a big trip (my first!) to NYC. I've taken it out on a few test runs and am really liking it so far. One problem I have run into is blurry shots. Unfortunately I don't have any to show you right now as I deleted them all, but if you need examples, I'd be glad to take my dog out tonight and shoot some more. Pictures, that is. Not the dog! :lol:

I have little to no photography experience. Most of my pictures are taken on my 8MP cell phone camera, but that will not do in NYC! I want to cover my house in these pictures when I get back.

I know as time goes on I will figure out how to tweak all the settings and get the desired affects, but for now, are there any tips you can give me for getting crisp shots with a moving focus? Even if my dog turns his head slightly during the shot, it's terribly blurry.

I am slightly familiar with apeture settings. I got the Lumix because it was one of the highest in terms of apeture size in the price range I was looking at. I read that f2.8 is a good setting to achieve bokeh, which is something I REALLY like in pictures.

Here are some of the shots I took last week:

P1000094.jpg

P1000101.jpg

P1000107.jpg

Thank you all for any help you can give me ;)

You might want to pick up Understanding Exposure -- it's a very good, very basic book that could help with this sort of thing. But on a very top-line level, there are two ways to avoid blurry pictures (at least that I know of):

1. A higher shutter speed.
2. A perfectly still camera and subject.