Getting Rid of blur

5ubz3r0

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi!

I have asked this question in another thred of mine but thought it would probably gain more attraction in it's own.
I took this pic a few days after I received my Nikon D5000 (I'm very new to photography) I just took this pic whilst playing with the settings on my camera and quite liked it. Looking at it closely I realised his hand is blured :grumpy:. How can I stop this from happening? Apart from adjusting the shutter speed. Can this be amended in programmes such as Photoshop and Lightroom 2? Like a sharpening tool? Please let me know!!

CSC_0104.jpg

No, you can't really fix blur with photoshop or other programs.

Consider it like this. If you want to 'fix blur', what are you really wanting...sharpness. So if you have, for example, a blurry hand, you would need a sharp hand to 'fix' it. A digital image is just a collection of pixels...if you want to change or remove something, you have to replace it with something.
So unless you have (within that image or in another one) a sharp hand that can be used to actually replaced the blurred one, then you are S.O.L.

There are sharpening tools in both Photoshop and Lightroom...but they don't actually fix blur. They increase the contrast between shapes/colors (pixels).

Motion blur in a photograph is one thing that photoshop can't get rid of* so you have to fix this in camera - sometimes its worth it to even underexpose the image to ensure that blur does not occur (one can add brightness and work with a darker shot to far more extent than with the unfixable blur).
I would strongly recomend the book Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson - it is aimed at beginners but goes into enough depth in an understandable language that you can build up a good understanding of exposure and how aperture, shutter speed and ISO work together to give you an exposure.