getting started

Shellie17

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello, I am wanting to get my wedding photography business started. I am new to the actual business side of it. I have previously only shot on the side and for small amounts of money or for free. I now want to have the real deal and I am wondering if anyone has any suggestions on good books or articles to read that will help me get started. I am looking for work as a second shooter to get my foot in the door and build my portfolio. Other then that I am overwhelmed with where to start.

While Wedding Photography for Dummies might be somewhat helpful I am looking for sound advise and something a bit more in depth.

I have been scowering the net for any guidelines or advise I could find.

Thanks for the feedback!
~Shellie

My best advice would be to look online or a phone book for wedding photography studios or a persons wedding photography business and maybe talk to them about being a second shooter or just shadowing their shooter to get a feel for it.

This is a good book: Digital Wedding Photography: Capturing Beautiful Memories by Glen Johnson

I believe John Hedgcoe has a wedding photography book, among many others.

Thank you Patrice! I'm glad you find me helpful. That's my goal. :blushing:

Second shooting is the way to go, imo. Some people can learn from books, but I'm a more visual person. I learn lots more from watching, and trying what I've seen.

Find a shooter in your area, whos work you enjoy. (Maybe not your local rockstar just yet). Give them a shout and let them know that you are willing to work for experience. Later, once you have a repore, you can see if they might be willing to let you use the images as well. You might luck out completely, and get someone who gives you all of the above and a few bucks to boot.