Gimp...

Raw photographer

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
So I know alot of people use Lightroom and/or Photoshop and that that works great. In fact I wish that I had at least one of the two. I am an amateur photographer and I am on a tight budget so I didn't bother purchasing Photoshop or Lightroom. Instead I looked around for a free alternative, and that's when I found Gimp. So I downloaded it, watched a few tutorials on how to use it and after editing the a couple images I fell in love with it. I use it to this day and it works fine for me. So I was wondering if any of you use Gimp here and how do you like it. If you don't use Gimp I'd love to hear what editing software you use.

P.s I couldn't find an editing section to post this in.

Thanks.

As someone also on a limited budget, I have Gimp loaded onto my home machine.

There are limitations but for all intensive purposes, Gimp like many other such open source software is typically about 3-5 years or versions behind the big guys.

There are exceptions to the rule and obviously many differences.
but simply because it doesn't have a name brand doesn't mean it cannot work.

I’m using paint.net but it strips the data from my TIFs.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Raw files only for me and so that negates GIMP which is a pixel editor. I do the best I can to avoid using pixel editors as I want my workflow to be as close as possible to 100% non-destructive and non-linearly re-editable. If I were on a budget then I'd opt to work with DarkTable.

Joe

I use other apps for the heavy lifting when it comes to editing raw files, but GIMP is more than what I need to polish them off.