Going from drawing to photography, a little difficulty

blackrose89

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been into photography for a very short time now. I've been drawing for almost 10 years. I feel like my perspective on what makes a good photo is vastly different then what people who have been at photography for a while see.

I really enjoy the more simple photography like food photography, an up-close shot of a coffee mug at a cafe setting, stuff like that. I guess because in drawing you're not looking to "make a story out of a subject" (I mean I guess you would in some situations, but I'm more into realistic sketchwork), in drawing you pick a picture of a subject to draw and you make the image around that. Don't get me wrong I can appreciate the amazing photographs as well, but I really really like still life.

Another thing is in drawing, the goal is a lot more literal. You're trying to make something look as realistic and close to the reference as possible. In photography there seems to be a lot of emphasis on making your photographs tells a story.

it's also a little hard for me being a beginner again. I haven't been a beginner for 10 years. I've been really good at something for a long time and it's a bit discerning being at square one with something.

Just some stuff I thought I'd share.

Welcome to the forum,

My opinion differs. I see no difference other than the media used to create art. I mean that I disagree with your statement that it's different. Art is a very large and fully encompassing subject. Your particular style of photography can be exactly as you would draw for example. I see no reason why not.

[h=3]art/ärt/
[/h]
Noun:
  1. The expression or application of human creative skill and imagination, typically in a visual form such as painting or sculpture,...: "the art of the Renaissance"
  2. Works produced by such skill and imagination.
Pretty open to interpretation ;)