Going on Scott Kelby's Photo Walk - What Lens?

PhotoXopher

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.lightartisan.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Our local walk is a night one and I'm not 100% sure which lens to take along.

1. Nikon 35-70 f/2.8
2. Nikon 50mm f/1.4
3. Sigma 18-250 f/3.5-6.3

I'm thinking the Nikon 35-70 f/2.8 but would love to hear what more experienced folks have to say.

I just want to have fun and not lug around a lot of gear, hence the one lens. I'm open to suggestion though.

Thanks in advance!

I have been using only my 50mm for around 2 months. (see avatar). I find it refreshing and challenging in a good way. If your body is a full frame, i'd go with the 50. I think if you're using a crop sensor body though, i'd probably go with the 35-70.

Sorry, I should have mentioned that - it's a crop sensor (Nikon D90).

Thanks for the input, and I agree on the challenge - I shot with my 35mm f/1.8 for the month of November but have since traded it for the 35-70 f/2.8.

I'd want to know about what your subject matter will be, that would help *me* decide. You know, if you know the area you are going and what the "theme" is.

I'm not bothering this year. The for areas they are going I cover on a regular basis.
The theme for one is at night, and it is "neon".

Personally I would take the 50mm and the 18-250mm.
And, from what I just recently learned, a tripod or at least a monopod.

People talk about the rule of thirds, but there was some website that talks about the Rule of Toos.

Not getting good shots because:
It's too cold.
It's too hot.
It's too far.
It's too high.
It's too heavy.
It's too early.
It's too late.

Get it?

Got it :lol:

I cover this area almost every day at lunch break but never at night. It's a pretty big small city if that makes sense.

There's no theme as far as I know... should be lots of downtown lights and what not. I may bring my monopod, if nothing else it'll act as a walking stick.