Good camera or no? Also question regarding battery

canuckythe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey all I'm a super newbie and I'm determined to learn how to take nice pictures. Anyway onto my main point/concern:
I currently have a powershot S3 IS and I have no clue about it. How good of a camera is it (Says it's 6 megapixel and that's it)? What kind of a camera is it? Do I need any other equipment such as extra lenses or whatnot?
Also this thing takes 4 AA batteries. Neither the camera nor the manual told me how much mAh is required for the batteries, but it did talk about batteries in camera accessories and suggested 2500mAh. I was curious as to what are some good batteries for it. I hear eneloops are great rechargeables but I wonder if the 2000mAh is enough. Eneloop xx seems a lot more expensive and only 500 charges, plus they get lower to about 75% of original power after a year... Any suggestions?

Thanks to all those that may be able to help!

I do not know too much about the Powershot S3 IS. All I know it is a point and shoot type camera. As for the battery. In general, the higher the mAh the battery rated, the more the power the battery can have. In other words, it let you shoot more photos per charge.

But the problem with most of the NiMH type rechargeable batteries they self-discharge too fast. So they freshly charged batteries may lose half or more of it charge in a relatively short time (when compare with a non-rechargeable battery). So you charge up the batteries and put them in the camera. Couple weeks later you grab the camera and start taking photos. You may find that the batteries die pretty soon. However, it is not the case if you use the Eneloop batteries.