Good macro lens for NIKON D90?

Firewing

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm a novice photographer, so I surely don't have enough experience with lenses to make the best choices, yet. =) I want to grab a macro lens, since there are so many small things I'd love to get up close to and capture all the detail of.

AF-S DX Micro-NIKKOR 40mm f/2.8G

That is what I had mind. Is this a good choice, and might there be anything else out there for a D90 under $280 that could be better for me? Some people recommended different brands and lenses, so I'm here for help since I don't know how to properly compare the wide variety of features each lens has to offer. Any help appreciated, thank you!

I cannot figure out exactly why these "short" macro lenses keep hitting the market, except for the fact that the used lens market is FILLED with older, barely-ever-used macro lenses of longer focal lengths, like 90mm and 105mm. TO me, a 40mm macro lens just seems, well, like a dumb idea. But, Pentax came out with a 35mm macro, and Nikon a 40mm macro...I suppose it's for people who want the 60mm "equivalent" for their DX Nikons, in an inexpensive lens that doubles as a semi-normal lens.

I think 40mm is too short for macro- and close-up shooting. Just flat-out, too doggone short for most subjects and most types of situations I can envision. Any small subject you wish to show large, and from close-up will have to be REALLLLLY close to the front of the lens....like a half an inch away to one inch...that means your body will be blocking natural light, AND you'll have one he(( of a time geting electronic flash onto the subject in a normal,conventional manner. AND...this is the bad part...when the flash is mounted on the camera or on a bracket, it is soooooooo close to the subject that light fall-off is a big problem. So is exposure consistency and exposure regulation.