Got My Camera Today!

bp4life71

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
First off, thank you to ALL WHO gave me advice and info on every question I had...and there were alot. This site is fantastic.

As those who come here regularly know, I was looking at Canon and Nikon entry level cameras. I narrowed it down to the Nikon d60 or the Canon XS. I received pros and cons, and ultimately decided that the Nikon was going to be the camera.

Throughout the info I was given, one statement stood out the most, and that was to make sure you held each camera in your hand and let how it feels play a role in your decision.

Once I got to the camera store (STAPLES), I held both the Nikon D60 and Canon XS in my hands. Immediatly, I felt way more comfortable with the Canon. I played around with the settings, and I kept going back to loving the Live View...it just felt right. The more I started playing with both cameras, I could not get over how the Canon just felt right in my hands.

In the end, although I was 100% going for the Nikon when I got to the store, nothing could get me passed how much better the Canon felt in my hands. So ultimately, I purchased the Canon XS as my first camera to begin my hobby. I only have the kit lense with it, but it is a start to a newly found hobby.

Again, thanks for all the information. I am now a Canon owner with far more knowledge of Nikon Lenses than Canon....as I did all my lense research on the Nikon lenses. Now to learn the Canon Lense terminology!

First lense purchase will be the 50 1.8 lense. Probably next month.

Thanks again to all!

Bp4life.

The Canon lens terminology is very simple. Congrats on the new camera! It won't take long for you to fall in love with Canon's unmatched lens line-up!

Congrats for your purchase .... You will be happy with your XS. (I am sure if you buy the D60, you will enjoy it too)