Got my Tamron 90mm F/2.8 macro today

Boz Mon

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I picked it up this morning. The add said $200 firm, but the guy took $150 for it. I really like it, but its hard to shoot macro and get a clean shot. The one thing that I dont like is the really shallow DOF, even at the higher f stops like 22 and up its still really shallow, but that's life I guess. Anyway, heres some of the keepers from my first day of shooting macro, thers kinda a lot but its easy for me to upload them so I'll post a lot:

dsc0076mediumhi4.jpg

dsc0036mediumbz5.jpg

dsc0038mediumcr4.jpg

dsc0045mediumbx6.jpg

dsc0047mediumdr4.jpg

dsc0055mediumti5.jpg

dsc0059mediumzh9.jpg

The grainyness of the images is because I was trying to shoot at f/16 and above to gain some DOF so I had to bump the ISO so I wasnt shooting with like a 1 second shutter. Again this is my first time so I look forward to some good pointers. I really wish 4 would have came out better too.

A good start; you're right, the shallow DoF of the lens is one of the big challenges in getting really good macro captures. Whenever possible, use a tripod, and typically don't go much past the middle of your lenses apeture range as sharpness starts to fall off after that. The other big challenge is lighting. Your on-camera flash is all but useless, however an assortment of home reflectors and diffusers can make all the difference, as can an inexpensive ring light.

I agree with tirediron. There really is a learning curve to macro. You have to keep your aperture at f8 or above to get reasonable DOF and then you get light starved. It's a never-ending challenge -- but fun :)

You did better than I did -- I don't think I had any keepers my first day!

I really like your tarantula

The tarantula was fun....I wasnt even focusing at the 1:1 part of the lens and I still was having a difficult time getting the focus right...