Group Portraits

BoxPhotographer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey, I'm probably going to be paid for some group portraits for 2-5 people not sure yet. Any ideas for location, lighting, settings, setup, poses etc? I know this is a broad topic but I'm really not an expert at group photos. Ask me questions if you need more clarification.

P.S. It's Winter here.

P.S. Would a tripod be a good idea?

Last edited:
I do a lot of searching the web when I have new photos to take that I'm not used to. Like groups (I'm more into babies and children)! I'd search Flickr and see what others do. You could take some nice indoor "studio" looking photos and then have them go outside and do some cute snow fighting fun photos or if there is no snow just take some with their winter attire (hats, gloves, etc..) on. That way you have a little of both. I like to try to do things that they could get going to Portrait Innovations.
As far as set up....I'm no pro, but I bought a set off Ebay, it came with a backstand, backdrop, case, two lights w/stands and two umbrella's, for like $140.00! It works GREAT! And looks alot nicer than my pvc set up I had before! :lol:

I second the Flickr research...its always nice to see what other people are doing! Group shots are hard to be spontanous....too many people LOL! But then you dont want to stair step them and look too generic. Good luck and I would love to see some of the pictures!

Be sure you don't use the 18-200. The barrel and pin cushion distortion in that lens is amazing and it does weird things to peoples faces/bodies. ;)

5.6 should give you enough depth of field to cover a small group without problems - remember to focus on the person who's middle-distance away. Unless the group are particularly active (!) or you can't use flash, stick to ISO-100.

I found some good poses for informal groups on YouTube searching under "Event Photography".

Yes, definitely tripod.