Have two 40Ds want to upgrade: 5D, 7D or 1D MKIIn?

dracalud

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hey All,
I am a newbie to DSLR photography. Started taking pics of my son playing paintball. Got advice from one of the top paintball photographers. On his advice, I got the 40D with 70-200mm 2.8 lens. Now, almost a year later, I have two 40D bodies and have added some awesome lenses. I am also starting to shoot portraits, headshots, fashion, and events. Would love to start shooting weddings. I also do indoor sports, theater performances, concerts etc. Though I started shooting 90% paintball and 10% other stuff - now I shoot 50% paintball and 50% other stuff.
Ideally, I am thinking about upgrading one of my 40D bodies and keeping the other as a backup to whatever I buy.
OH - and I have the following lenses: 16-35mm mkII, 50mm 1.8, 24-70mm L, 85mm 1.8, 100mm 2.8 macro, 70-200mm 2.8 (my fave!) and a Tokina 10-17mm fisheye (on the way ) - seemed like a fun lens to have for paintball!
I need your expert help and advice. Here are my questions:
Should I buy a friend's 5D classic for $1100 and keep both 40Ds?
Should I buy a used 1D MK IIn and keep one 40D as back up?
Should I buy a 7D and keep one 40D as a back up?
Just keep my double 40D set up for now and save for my son's college? : )
I welcome and appreciate any and ALL advice, suggestions, etc.
Thanks so much for your help.

I came from two 40ds.. Recommend the 5dmkii.. It's great lowlight, image quality blows away the 40d, n the full frame sensor makes crop shots more usable. Problem I'll have it's lacking as a sports camera, not fast enough, and ai servo on the 5d is not the greatest, camera is perfect for weddings. Gl buying