Having Buyers Remorse Already.. bought the D5200 ..upgraded from D5000

Photo Lady

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am not seeing any bells and whistles.. I am plainly not impressed with any difference between my D5000 And this new D5200.. I am using the same Tamron 18-270 MM lens.. I have mostly tested and compared the two with auto settings.. I think the 5200 does a good job and it feels lighter to hold.. but I am missing my d5000.. could it be me.. or is this a true aspect of only thinking your upgrading by buying a new camera..i can still take it back.. I don't know if they would accept my reasoning.. but I just don't want to be spending all this money if theres no reason to... I am still a noob in many ways. but I just don't feel the glory and excitement.. and you really need this emotion........

If you don't like it, take it back. That's a good enough reason.

well thanks .. but I want to be sure I am doing the right thing too..

The sensor on the d5200 is better alright than your d5000 was, but likely you will only see this in large contrast pictures due the dynamic range, and likely in very low light shooting. Unfortunetly the Tamron lens you use is very consumer, convenient but wont give you the best your d5200 or indeed your d5000 has to give.

Take it back.
Then buy yourself a better lens instead

well thanks .. but I want to be sure I am doing the right thing too..

If you bought it with the intention of returning it, that would not be cool. But since you bought it and said you don't like it after messing around with it, ethically, I think you're ok. Put that money into a new lens instead.

Yeah...you just basically bought a slightly more-capable version of what you have had for a while now. It's not really an "upgrade" in terms of capabilities or body controls, but a sort of lateral move, to a slightly better seat on the same old bus...maybe a bit closer to the heater vent, ya' know?