Hello from the True Mitten State in the USA!

Strider64

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
A little about myself ->
I was born in Detroit, Michigan, but grew up in Livonia, Michigan on August 28, 1964. I have been developing and designing websites for the last 10 years. My interest in computers goes all the way back to 1980 and my very first computer was the Commodore 64. From there I graduated to the PC starting of using Dos 3.1 Operating System. I was a Windows user all the way up to 2014 when I switched over the Apple 27" iMac with 5K Display. I used to run a Bulletin Board System (BBS) in the early 1980s and most of the 1990s. This was before the internet became popular by the public. I mostly ran Wildcat! for my BBS, but I had used other bbses such as PCBoard BBS, Renegade, Synchronet and a few others that I can't remember. I have even developed a phone callback verifier and a few other applications for my bbses
I got into digital photography when I bought a Nikon D80 in 2006 that I used up until a couple of months ago and it still works. I decided to upgrade my Nikon body in order to still use some of the lens that I have bought over the years, especially my 300mm VR lens. I decide to go mirrorless for I will be using it when I go on walks and I don't feel like lugging around heavy camera gear. I want to be able to use my old Nikon lens when I want to and the Nikon 1 J5 camera fits my criteria. I can walk around with the 10-30 mm and 30-110 Nikon 1 lens, then when I want to use my good old Nikon lens using a FT-1 Adapter. Yes I realize that the Nikon 1 camera system is obsolete or will be obsolete shortly. but I consider my an amatuer photographer. If I were a professional photographer I would had purchase a high end DSLR camera body.