Help a newbie with big dreams to find the proper equipment

learningtogrow

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi. I hope you are well.
I’m a newbie looking for some technical advice.

I love photography. I spend a good time “taking pictures” (I need to re-emphasize the newbie feeling); however, as many of you can easily guess, I don’t have any related knowledge: I just place the camera and try to take the best picture. Please, do not take this in a bad way. I'm not underestimating the photographer's art/work.

Lately, I have been thinking about improving this (probably taking a couple of courses). But also, about buying professional equipment. You can say…” Why a newbie needs pro devices?” and I understand and respect that point. In any case, the reality is that I’m collecting information to buy a professional camera and lenses to…
  1. Do landscape photography (I love to capture nature)
  2. Do the opposite, which is insect photography. I’m an ants keeper and I’d love to have the proper equipment to take good photos, zooming, focusing, and having a beautiful big photo of my queens.

As I said, I’m trying to collect information to research possibilities and prices.
Any advice will be much appreciated.

Thanks for helping me.

Since you didn't specify a platform, all the smartest and best-looking photographers use Nikon.

And just what is it that makes a camera/lens "professional" to you? To some, simply being able to swap lenses makes a camera a professional model. But I was at a wedding on Saturday and the hired photographer was using a D3400 which is on the "lower end" of Nikon's lineup. The skill of the photographer will have a much bigger impact on the final result than the camera being used.