HELP!! - Action Shots

Eventer

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.michelleclarke.co.nz
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Okay i have a showjumping show tommorow and i'd love to get some really good photos, so i was practising getting actionshots of my little brothing jumping on the tramnpoline! I cant do it - Theres slight blurring i put the shutter speed up and then they come out dark. Ill show u what i mean.
I dont know what to do, Then i put it on the "sports mode" but no better... Tell me what u think :D
And remember that horses are going to be jumping quite a bit fater than a kid on a tramp! :lol:

SLR091.jpg

1/200, F5, iso100 (wrong settings??)

SLR086.jpg

1/250, F5.6, iso100

SLR084.jpg

1/200, F5, iso100

What do i need to change?? This fancy stuff is all very confusing!!

I reall want to be able to get nice crisp photos like this one taken by my friend kate ( geegeephotography.co.nz)
5400_132258976109_132228096109_3142364_6621089_n.jpg

im a noob myself but i think the exposure on your photos are abit too low

I am assuming that you are shooting digital. If that is the case try raising your iso up so you can get a much faster shutter speed. Keep in mind though that is you are going to be using a flash you will be limited on shutter speed to you flash sync speed.

I have been out of it a while but that is what I would try.

Michael

I too would say raise your ISO, and keep in mind that in your trampoline shots you have a lot of the sky in the picture, if you're using the auto-metering you may want to change it to center-weighted or zoom in closer to your subject if possible so the reading is more accurate to the subject that you want to capture.

I'm assuming you can boost iso to about 400 and not regret the noise... thus set iso to 400, shutter b/n 1/250-1/500, play with aperture to get a good exposure. if you can use the flash - USE it.