help and advice

pod501

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
This is my first post on here so trying to figure out how to use this site,
i'm new to photography and want to take it up at a serious level, if anybody could give me some help and advice i would be realy grateful.
also could someone tell me a decent camera to use as ive heard so many different ones, my budget is around £600-£800. ive also been told its not so much about the camera its the lenses, so could someone please recommend me a couple of lenses i would need to start me off.
i'm mainly attracted to portrait, landscape, studio photography.
:D

Last edited:
Start with a book or two on exposure and composition. More than the camera and lenses ( not that these aren't a huge part in many cases ) is the knowledge of the person behind them. When I first started, I ordered my camera and had 2 weeks before it arrived. So in those 2 weeks I read everything my library had. It helps a lot. I was still lost at times, but I think it saved me a lot of headache and probably at least several months of aggravation. I would look at either the Canon T3i or the Nikon D5100 with kit lens.

....and want to take it up at a serious level....
If you are willing to take the kind of short cuts that make written communication less effective and readable, like skipping the ever so basic and simple step of using the shift key to make the appropirate capital letters, what kind of short cuts will you also be willing to take that diminish the effectiveness of the visual communication that photography is?

I recommend you commence a study that leads you to a sufficient technical understanding of the how the tools used for doing photography work, that you don't have to ask where to start or what lenses you might start with

How much money do you have to spend on lenses. The 3 Nikon zoom lenses I would recommend for serious portrait, landscape, studio work total about $7000 USD.