Help! Blue Images Look PURPLE!

zero5odc

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello,

New to the forums here. I have been doing photography of cars and bikes for many years and haven't really been too big on the forums. I come here to ask for your help!! You guys have alot of great insight and ideas and I'd love to see what you guys can do for me.

I have two images, both of the same bike and both the same LEDs on the bike. Both are Blue. The Pictures were taken with a Canon EOS 50d and a Nikon D40x.

The Purple Picture ( taken with Canon EOS 50 d "1.0s f/3.5 ISO:1000")
The Blue Picture ( taken with Nikon D40x "1.0s f/7.1 ISO:1600")

Now, all my Blue Pictures with the Canon LOOK Purple and all my Blue pictures with the Nikon LOOK BLUE. Now, all the other colors with the Canon look sharp, the Purple looks purple, the Green and Red look vivid and lively but the Blue, Looks PURPLE!

Any Ideas? HELP? Something? I know it has SOMETHING to do with the Blue LEDs because Blue Cars during Daylight Look Blue. So Ideas? Help? Something? Thanks!

4 More Posts to Post my Pictures.

2 More Posts to Post Pictures. Sorry. Im new and it wont allow Pictures or Links.

5323929862_34712d1eaa_b.jpg

5323929814_a29ff11ffd_b.jpg

Last edited:
"White Balance"

This is what is (most likely) different between the two camera bodies and I'm going to guess that you shot both on auto white balance? Typically speaking auto white balance does pretty well in most cases; though many cameras will have a slight lean - eg canons tend to be a little red and I think nikons a little more green/blue (I forget which). There are two ways to counter this: