Help me Get started with Post-processing

psran

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I started with Photography as a 6 months back and have shot around 14000 pics with my Nikon D5100 & D7000, I feel I have improved my photography skills but am severely lacking in the processing part. I had been using View NX2 which came free with Camera but have been feeling it's very Inadequate beyond some organising stuff Now I am looking for a software which can be used for Processing the Images in more creative & quickly. I mostly shoot RAW and my most common Subject is my family pics both Indoors & outdoors. I am a total noob at this, so please advise me which way to go

P.S- Please keep in mind that I am just a Hobbyist photographer, so budget & time would be a constraint. Also it would be nice if you could give the reason for your recommendation

Last edited:
From a budget standpoint and getting the biggest bang for your $$, I would recommend Adobe Photoshop Elements 12 as the place to start rather than Lightroom.
Lightroom (LR) is a professional grade Raw image data file converter application intended to be a front and back end supplement to professional grade Adobe Photoshop CC.

The editing module in LR, the Camera Raw in Photoshop Elements and the Camera Raw in Photoshop CC all use the same Raw image data file converter application software - Adobe Camera Raw (ACR).
However Elements is consumer grade software and it's version of ACR lacks some of the advanced features that ACR in LR and CC have.
Elements then has a lot of the same tools, features, functions, and capabilities that Photoshop CC has that you won't get in LR.

The ACR features Elements does have, along with a lot of the same tools, features, functions, and capabilities that Photoshop CC has, should serve you well into the foreseeable future.

$63.43 - Adobe Photoshop Elements 12 [Download]
$107.92 - Adobe Photoshop Lightroom 5

The Photoshop Elements 12 Book for Digital Photographers (Voices That Matter)