Help me with thoughts on my camera set up

Brittney0726

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am about to purchase a dslr to use to photograph my kids and family. I would like a lens that's great in low light situations. I don't have a problem spending $2000 on the set up. I would be adding additonal lenses a little at a time.

I am looking at purchasing a NIKON d7000 camera, NIKON 35mm f/1.8 lens, a NIKON sb400 flash and a bounce card.

Please give me some advise if you think I have a good starter set up. I'm just a beginner and some great advise from the professionals.

I was also contemplating the 50mm 1.4 NIKON lens. What are your thoughts on what lens may be better. I would need to take full length shots. I would eventually be buying both these lens but which one in addition to the camera and flash choice do you think?

Not a pro here but I've had more than my share of gear-itus.

I'd get the 35mm vs. 50mm. It's "normal" focal length makes it a little more useful for the average person's everyday type of shooting. It performs nearly as well, as well, or better than the 50mm 1.4g at a fraction of the price.

I'd also look for a used 18-105 VR. It will give you a nice range with good performance at a decent price. A used 18-70 is also a nice choice. Really all of Nikon's kit lenses perform very well and add a lot of versatility for the money. A refurb 18-55VR is around $100, performs well and focuses pretty close if semi-macro is an interest.

As for a speed-light, I'd spend a bit more on an SB-700 or a used SB600 or SB800. The D7000 can fire these speed-lights off camera in commander mode. Maybe not something you'll want to try now but one of those things you'll definitely want to try later.
Also the SB-400 doesn't allow for swivel - only up and down. Side bouncing as well as being able to bounce in portrait mode make it almost worth the difference alone. And you get more power.

The D7000, 18-xx, 35 1.8, and flash would make a wonderful kit.