help please.. budget indicated..

tinay

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
hi, i recently post that i'm bothered of what kind of camera to buy.. and many would ask for the budget.. my budget is around $1000.. right now i'm confused with canon eos 500d and nikon d5000.. i think they're both pretty good.. but i'm still a beginner.. if you would give me suggestions on the kind of camera besides the two i mention i would really really appreciate it guys.. thanks!

Either one would suit the needs of a beginner. Don't get all frazzled over the entry level cameras. If you don't have a need for video, then even look at the Canon 450D (XSI). Its the prior model to the 500D and a very good camera, just no video.

What is more important is the lenses. Better lenses give you better image quality, faster focusing, better low light shooting. It is normally said to get the best you can afford as a lens will last a long time, a camera body will be upgraded every 2-3 years.

The kit lens (lens that comes with the camera) is good for a beginner to learn about the camera functionalities. A lens that is often first bought as a first lens is the 50mm f/1.8 - aka the nifty fifty. No zoom, but great image quality and low light shooting for usually around $100 (which is REALLY cheap for a lens).

My advice:

If you don't care for video, look at the 450D. You will save some coin.

If you must have the newest, then go to a store and hold the two and see which is more comfortable in your hands and which has a better button layout for YOU

Buy that one

Buy a book called Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson. Knowledge and practice are THE MOST important things in photography, so best to start on the right foot with a good book