Help please.

ballplayer41291

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am relatively new to the world of photography but being that I am going back to school (do to being laid off) for communication art and design I have really become a fan of photography. I recently purchased a Nikon D90 and I love taking sports photos of my 3 nephews. Right now is football season and I really would like to be able to get some good pictures at one of their night games. I unfortunately do not have the funds to get a low f stop lens so I am limited to the Nikkor lenses I got when I purchased the camera. My question is what would be a good setting to get the sharpest pictures without blur in a pretty bad lighting situation for night football. I did purchase the SB-600 AF Speedlight external flash but I have seen mixed reports on wether to use a flash or not. So if anyone has any input I would be greatly appreciative.

You need fast glass, good floodlights on the scene, and a camera which will give low noise at high iso, the D90 so I hear is quite a good performer at high iso so buy yourself a 50mm f1.8 nikor for £90, (your equivalent) up your iso to 1600 and go try it out.

Bigger lens would be better but pricy, the f2.8 180mm is about £600 here I think, which would do for what you want, its super sharp and on your crop sensor will give around about a 260-70 telephoto view. H

ps Flash will be a waste of time unless your close to the action but may get you slung out of the game for blinding players