Help with Camera Settings for a Specific Shot

RandyKlein

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I want to take a very specific picture. I created a camera mount for my motorcycle where the camera sits on the gas tank pointed at the gauges and out the front windshield. I want to take a picture where the gauges are completely in focus & the road and background (seen out the windshield and on the sides of the bike) are out of focus. I want to try to have the road as a motion blur. I want the speedometer to say "100 mph", so I plan on driving fairly fast. Don't worry, I plan on doing this on a closed course and using a timer to take photos. The photo will be taken in daylight.

I have borrowed a friends Nikon DSLR for this (I dont have the model off hand). I am a complete amateur photographer, so excuse my ignorance here.

How should I setup the camera to accomplish this? What type of lens should I use? What specific settings should I set, and what should the settings be (roughly)? Is there anything else that I should consider?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Set ISO to 100
Change your camera to shutter priority: Tv or S (depending what brand you have)
Set the shutter to maybe around 1/80 of a sec

If your camera mount is not very secure, you will get vibrations and the picture will not come out clear at the 1/80 of a second. I've seen many mounts people have made suffer from this problem, even with much smaller cameras than an slr.

You can also get a gopro, set it to take a picture every 2 seconds, and ride around for a while. But you do not have manual control over settings.