Help with lenses... extension tubes or close-up lenses

photo28

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,
I'm new to this forum and I have a few questions about lenses. So far I'm looking to get the Olympus Evolt E-410. I found two lenses at a good price but I dont know which one would be best for my needs... which would be for macro and regular photography.
The Sigma Zoom Super Wide Angle 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC G Autofocus Lens for Olympus Digital Cameras (Four Thirds System), and use close-up lens or extension tubes.
or
40-150mm F4.0-5.6 ED Zuiko Lens with extension tubes or close-up lenses

another question is, what is better, close-up lenses or extension tubes. I preffer close-up lenses and I have some experience with them but do the pictures really come out better with extension tubes?
Thank you for the help!!!
Jeremy

Hi,
I'm new to this forum and I have a few questions about lenses. So far I'm looking to get the Olympus Evolt E-410. I found two lenses at a good price but I dont know which one would be best for my needs... which would be for macro and regular photography.
The Sigma Zoom Super Wide Angle 18-50mm f/3.5-5.6 DC G Autofocus Lens for Olympus Digital Cameras (Four Thirds System), and use close-up lens or extension tubes.
or
40-150mm F4.0-5.6 ED Zuiko Lens with extension tubes or close-up lenses

another question is, what is better, close-up lenses or extension tubes. I preffer close-up lenses and I have some experience with them but do the pictures really come out better with extension tubes?
Thank you for the help!!!
Jeremy

Hi and welcome to TPF.