Help with settings/post processing?

bahandi

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys, new to the forum and new to the concept of manual settings. Took this pic as i was leaving my grandma's apartment... didn't really have time to check the settings:

P5020188.jpg

WB: sunny
ISO: 400
1/125
f5

i wanted the plastic flowers to stand out, or at least not be as dark in the picture. I believe i chose spot metering? as well. The option with the dot in the middle.. lol.

I have an Olympus 550 uz, if that will help with suggestions and critique.

Also, seeing as i'm just learning everything about photography, i would prefer not to do too much post processing.

So what can i do?

ps. I apologize if this is the wrong place to post this

Here's a rundown on exposure.

Shutter speed. How long your shutter is open to allow light to expose the film.
Aperture. The hole that the light travels through to get there.
Film speed. A film's sensitivity to light.
Film latitude. Film's ability to record highlights and shadows.

(I'm talking film cause that's what I shoot though it applies to dig as well).

Film speed is relatively easy. Use low speed ratings for good lighting and still subjects. Higher speeds for low light and moving subjects.

Shutter speed. A faster shutter speed will freeze action. Slower shutter speeds will show motion. You should try to never photograph hand held at a shutter speed that is less than the focal length of the lens you are using. Example: 50mm - 1/60 S/S. This will help keep motion and blurring from occuring, even from your body's own movement.