Horse racing photography at night with no flash- A starting point ?

mgshouston

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hello.. I am new to photography and I am trying to get some good shots of horse racing at night without a flash so the horses aren't spooked and the flash would matter as the horses are a little ways away.
My camera is a Nikon D100, Phoenix 28-300mm f/4.0-6.3AF zoom lens, No flash.
There are lights there, I just can't get the right combination of settings for enough light in and shutter speed fast enough that the horses aran't blurry.
Any info will help. I would like at least a good starting point suggestion for the gear I am working with.
Thanks

Shooting in the dark without flash is easy. shooting action and movement in the dark without flash is something I still work on. I have given up on getting a "perfect photo" and have reduced myself to being "good enough" when it comes to no flash and movement in dim settings as finding I could never find a balance of shutter speed, iso and aperature that actually gave me a shot I really thought was good.

still shots though, that is easier. It isn't hard to use a tripod and make for a long shutter and you can keep the iso nice and low to keep the noise down.

movement, is something as I said I still work on and maybe everyone does as you are asking for the near impossible?
That is why people like shooting light trails instead of attempted frozen stills of night movement. so much easier....