How do I make the background more sharp in this picture?

xantho

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Did I take the picture slightly out of focus? I realize that I need to straighten the picture out a tad but I was looking for advice. I feel like the tree-line isn't as sharp as it should be.

Thanks!

sunsetbaywoodgreens.jpg

up your ISO.. you shot this at ISO 100.. its a darker situation.. so try upping the ISO some.. should make a difference

Keep in mind, Im a newbie to this. But I thought the higher the aperature the more focused your background becomes. But Ive also noticed in dark situations it doesnt work all that. Kewl photo.

1/125s f/7.1 ISO100 45mm (35mm eq:67mm)

If you're shooting at infinity, as I hope you are in this scenario, you can shoot at whatever aperture you like. The background will be in focus. Increasing your ISO will do you little/no good, as you already had a decent hand-holding shutter speed (unless you were moving quickly for some reason o_O ) for that focal length. It should have also been fast enough to freeze motion in the trees if it was windy.

Sooooo, methinks you just missed the focus. Focus at infinity for landscape (well, most of the time anyway).

its definatley the focus. just make sure you focus on the trees instead. If you have all 9 AF points enabled, then that may be your problem-- the bottom AF points may be focusing the water. Just select on the center AF point and then aim that point at the tree line, then recompose with the shutter 1/2 held down and when ready take the shot.

Thanks for all the advice. If you use a larger aperture will the increase in the depth of field be apparent through the viewfinder or will it only show in the final picture?

It will only show in the final picture, unless you use the preview button on your camera. I'd say that it's probably located by the lens, but after that I am lost depending upon which camera you have.