How do you do to shoot a first wedding?

MiFleur

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok I have been doing photography for a while, know many of the functions of my camera, I have shot unofficially a few events.
I don't find myself so good in low light situations. Did not do a lot of these.
I have a good enough equipment, need to buy a second flash ( I have the SB600) and may be a fast prime lens ( I would like to find a 35 mm F1.4 but not ready to spend the money yet)
I already have the tamron 24-70, F2.8, the nikon 70-200 VRII F2.8, and a 60 mm F2.8 macro lens.
I do not feel confident enough yet and I am aware of the responsibility of being the sole photographer, having back-ups etc.
I have no experience in weddings yet.

I have a friend who is master of ceremony and she will attend several weddings this summer.
My first thought was to ask permission to shoot these weddings free of charge until I do have some experience and gather some shots for a portfolio.
and may be charge per picture if they want anything. What is the best way to acquire that experience?

The best bet would be to find a wedding photographer and offer to be their 2nd shooter, even for free. Go with them, learn what it takes...see how "unfun" it can be. lol. Have them show you the ropes. Then when your confident you have the skill and equipment, do one on your own.

My 2 cents.

Weddings are a one-off deal. If you screw it up, which you very well might on your first one, nothing personal, that is just the facts of it, you can't do a re-shoot. My best advice for you is to find an established professional wedding photographer and offer your services, free of charge, to be their assistant. Explain to them why you are doing it. You should accompany them on at least 10 weddings before you strike out on your own.