Rachelsne

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.flickr.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am English, married to an American and we live in Virginia

I am thinking about going back to school (im 26) and getting some decent education, as i would like a career in photography, I thought choosing something photography based would be a good idea.

However I dont understand how the school system works this is waht it says about the photography course, it is an Associates of applied science, my husband cant really remember what it all means either.
in the general education courses do you do all of them? and then a major along side of them, and is it just one from the list of majors or do you have to do them all? then to work out the cost its per credit hour-what does that mean? Im a virginian resident now.

AAS Photography
GENERAL EDUCATION COURSES
Course # Course Title Credits
ENG 111 College Composition I 3
SPD 100 Principles of Public Speaking 3
Social Science Electives1 6
MTH 120 Introduction to Mathematics2 3
HLT/PED Health or Physical Education Elective(s) 2
SDV 100 College Success Skills 1
Total General Education Course Credits 18

MAJOR and OTHER COURSES
Course # Course Title Credits
ART 121 Drawing I 3
ART 131-132 Fundamentals of Design I and II 3-3
ART 287 Portfolio and Resume Preparation 1
ART Art History Elective 3
ART/PHT Art/Photography Studio Electives 9
PHT 101-102 Photography I-II 3-3
PHT 110 History of Photography 3
PHT 135 Electronic Darkroom 3
PHT 206 Large Format Photography 3
PHT 221 Studio Lighting I 3
PHT 264 Digital Photography 3
PHT 270 Digital Imaging I 3
PHT 297 Cooperative Education in Photography 1
Total Major and Other Course Credits 48
Total Minimum Credits 66

Tuition & Fees (Effective Fall 2008)

• Tuition for Virginia students
    $81.65 per credit hour
  • Out-of-state students
    $253.80 per credit hour
  • Institutional fee (fall, spring)
    $10.50 per semester
  • Institutional fee (summer)
    $7.25