How Important is VR?

AduNeButt

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm looking to buy a new lens for my D60, specifically a 70-300mm. I've found quite a few without VR for around $100 and with VR for $400-$450. So my question is since the D60 relies on the lens for VR, as the body doesn't have any such feature, should I spend up to four times as much JUST for VR? I've never shot without VR, so I'm not really experienced on just how much it helps. I do have a tripod, but I'd still want to take some pictures by hand and I'm not sure how hard that is without VR. Any help is appreciated, thanks.

I have the 70-300 VR. It's quite impressive. Seeing the view go from bouncing around handheld to looking like it's on a tripod is amazing. Well worth it IMO.

VR is definately a plus on telephoto lenses.

In the case of the 2 lenses you have mentioned the difference is much more than just VR.

The less expensive lens only has 13 glass elements in 9 groups. The more expensive lens has 17 glass elements in 12 groups, so the diffference in cost is not just the VR.

The better IQ of the VR lens, even with VR turned off, is well worth the money.

Last edited:
It's very important to me. It really makes a difference.

i was under the impression that the less glass elements a lens has... the better the IQ... probably the vr version has better IQ cause its a more recent version not because of the bigger elements number.

I was like you and thought IS (Canons version) was sort of pointless.... until I tried it out, 3 pictures at different focal lengths, one set with IS on, and the other 3 with IS off. AMAZING difference when the IS was turned on, well worth it IMO.

It was also done with a 70-300mm lens, just for a Canon

Thanks for the replies, I think I'll stick with VR equipped lenses.