How much Photoshop is to much Photoshop?

Blitz55

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Well let me give you a small bit of background on me. I am just starting photography, but I have been using photoshop since about 1997, mostly for painting drawings and such. So not as much photo manipulation or post production on photos.

So, how much Photoshop is to much Photoshop?

First off, I am not looking to take just MEH photos and try and use my photoshop skills to enhance them, that is not my aim. My aim is to be able to take great photos using my knowledge of the camera and my imagination of what to shoot.

But I had this image, it was a real quick hand held shot I took and I just wanted to see what I could do with it in PS. I am not sure how normal it is to edit your photos and how much is considered over the top. Or is it all about the final product and how you got their not as big a deal.

Anyway, enough of me blabbing.
Tell me any thoughts you want on this. I can take crits no problem. Just wasn't sure what to think of this image after I was done and thought id share for what its worth.

FINAL

finalfp.jpg

Steps from original photo.
allnone.jpg

It's personal. It all depends on the person.

If I can use Photoshop, LR, DynamicPhotoHDR, etc to make a bleh photo pop, I'm going to do it. That's just me.

Some are purists and won't touch Photoshop.
Some will do anything to make it a better photo.

It's just important to remember that Photoshop cannot help poor composition (except by cropping if you want to call that "photoshopping...") and can only help lighting to an extent. It can't fix everything

Last edited:
Yeah,
See I just don't know enough about the photography scene so I wasn't sure if it was taboo to just PS the hell out of a photo to make it look good or not. Or if, like you said it is just personal preference and depends on your own line of thinking.