How much to charge for food photography?

brianhuangbh

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys. Some of my work has peaked a local restaurant owner's interested and he wanted me to photograph some of his food for his restaurant. He owns a Chinese restaurant and is thinking of getting 30-40 dishes photographed. I have never charged for any of my photos and I have no idea how to charge. I am by no means an pro but my photos aren't half bad, and I can probably take some decent looking food photos.

I've been looking around online and many people are charging upwards of 150-200 an hour. I know these are professional rates and I was wondering what a freelancer like me should charge? I was thinking around $10-$15 per photo. Is that too high/low for someone like me to be charging?

Also, if you guys have any tips on food photography that may be useful, I'd greatly appreciate it if you share your thoughts.
What kind of background would be ideal? For all my current product photos I shot, I just used a sheet of white posterboard and I use a single flash. This is the outcome: http://www.flickr.com/photos/weeebrian/sets/72157630406965788/

I know the 60D isn't exactly food, but I am expecting to use sort of the same technique for the food photography.

As for my gear, I plan on using a Nikon D7000 with a 17-55mm f/2.8, and a couple SB-800's.

Thanks!

Last edited: