How to achieve this look

linpelk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am pretty new at this photography thing so I have a question that MAY be stupid. Every once in a while I will get a picture that ends up being a really dark background and the subject is lit. This has happened a couple of times for me on accident and I'd like to know if there is a way of doing it on purpose (see picture below...I know it's not an amazing picture, but just an example) I don't think it was particularly dark when I shot this picture in my kitchen window. If there was THAT much light on her face there would be light in the room since we have windows all along that wall. I don't have Photoshop...I have Aperture and I don't know how to use it (just mostly crop and adjust exposure...some white balance but I never know if it looks better or worse after I've done it). Anyway, this picture is completely unedited straight from the camera. Any advice?
IMG_6499.jpg

Last edited:
I'll take a stab at explaining this but I'm sure others can do it better...

What you're seeing is a difference in subject lighting and ambient lighting in the room.

The subject is lit by a window that's pouring in a lot of light but the rest of the room is somewhat darker (due to shades or whatever). So when your camera meters for all of the light that's hitting the subject... it sets the aperture / shutter speed too small / fast to capture any of the ambient lighting in the background.

To replicate this just make sure you're exposing for the subject and put more light on them than what's in the surroundings.

I'll take a stab at explaining this but I'm sure others can do it better...

What you're seeing is a difference in subject lighting and ambient lighting in the room.