How to get more relevant in the business

donaldplozha

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I have been working as a freelance photographer since 5 years now, it is my passion and I would love it to become my profession as well, like full time. I have work sometimes, but I am not satisfied. Have tried advertising my work on Facebook and Instagram, but people seem to be swayed off by high prices just like by low prices as well! It is strange. In case you are interested, you can take a look at my Instagram Donald Plozha Photography (@donaldplozha) • Instagram photos and videos and I would love some advice on how to grow... I mean, I would be ready to do it all, even contact people, different ones, on a daily basis and ask them if they want to shoot some professional pics, but I don't know if that is a good idea overall so...

Starting and maintaining a retail or commercial photography business is way more about having business skills than about having photography skills.

The first thing needed to establish and keep a photography business going is a well researched and written business and marketing plan.

^^^^^^^^^^^^
What Keith Said.

I would also add that professional photography is not about Facebook and Instagram images. It is about being able to cover the bases as a photographer. You photos are a bit helter skelter, predominately a combination of street shots and some semi portraits. You need to define who you are as a photographer and exhibit what you can do. That included in the marketing phase as well. Selfies scattered all over don't sell you as a photographer.

Portraits, weddings, are the two that will sell the most unless you have a good comprehension and skills at commercial photography.

It's been a while since I've posted some basic, and approximate, full time photography business numbers.