How to photograph an object in the foreground with fireworks in the background

Smitty91

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.sdsfirephotos.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
As a personal project, I am wanting to photograph a local fire company whose district includes a ballpark. The ballpark holds "Friday Night Fireworks" for every home game on a Friday night. I am wanting to get shots of the fire company with the fireworks in the background.

I'm guessing I just have to set to expose for the apparatus and the fireworks will turn out ok. Being that it will be at night, set the camera up for aperture priority and keep the ISO as low as possible in order to get the proper shutter speed for the effects of the fireworks that are desired (trailing light).

Does this sound correct or am I missing something? I plan on practicing with my personal ride in order to keep from having the apparatus setting up on different nights.

Thanks in advance.

Smitty

I'm a newbie so take this with a grain of salt. It's all about relative light on the ground versus the sky. Try metering both individually and see what shutter speeds the camera gives you. If one is significantly brighter (faster shutter speed chosen by camera), either use full manual and split the difference, or use a graduated neutral density filter to "darken" the brighter area by 1 to 3 stops.

As always, take numerous test shots and use auto exposure compensation "bracketing" to get 1/3, 1/2, 2/3 stop variations. Trial and error is your friend. It's not like you've got to develop a roll of film to find the answer ;)

Drag the shutter. Use a flash (preferably off-camera if possible) to light the equipment and leave the shutter open long enough to get the fireworks in the background.