how to politely decline shooting a wedding

Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
my cousin is getting married. my whole family thinks i'm a built in photographer. i told my mother to please PLeASE reiterate that I don't have the desire or the skill to shoot weddings. WHy do people think that just becasue you have a camera and like photography that you want to shoot their wedding for them for free?

I feel like no matter what I say, I'm stuck. My cousin isn't hiring a photographer at all, they are getting hitched ASAP for some reason and didn't really plan much of anything. They don't have money for a photographer and everyone in my family has this in their mind that "oh, kelly will be there, don't worry. she'll get shots for you" :grumpy:

Sounds like they aren't expecting much. Tell them they can have all the pictures you were going to take anyway. It politely says, "This is not wedding photography, it is pictures from your wedding." Tell them to try to find a cheap wedding photographer thought, because it takes way more equipment than they realize which you don't have. Whether or not you realistically have the equipment doesn't matter.

'I am not a wedding photographer. I cannot take the pictures that I think should come out better. Some photographers might take pictures and give you the film for a reduced rate. Yatta. Yatta. Yatta.'

Say "No thanks. It's not my style ... and I would be very bad at it!"

If you are ever going to really be a pro - and you already ARE! - you must learn to turn down those jobs that do not suit your skills, equipment and interests.

I know - this is always a touchy subject. We've all probably had to deal with it more than once. But stand your ground. What if you DO shoot it? And what if - your pictures are lousy?