How to pose a large team photo creatively - softball

SquarePeg

hear me roar
Staff member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm not an aspiring professional but this seemed like the most appropriate forum.

I'm taking a team photo next week for my daughter's softball team that I am helping coach. I have several challenges to overcome here and could use some help.

1 - there are 16 girls on the team! height ranges from about 4'6" to 5'10" with most of the girls being around 5'3". Uniforms are black pants and red shirts with black lettering.

2 - the photo will be taken at the field where there is absolutely no shade available. I'll be praying for an overcast day. The good news is that it's a very nice looking field with lots of opportunity for background separation and it will be at 8am so not too harsh if it's a clear and sunny day. Background can be the backstop which has a black chain link fence or the outfield which I can probably line up so that there are distant trees in the background.

3 - I'd like to be in the photo, although I plan to take several of just the girls, there will be at least one with the 2 coaches so need to know how best to pose that too. For the girls I was thinking of doing a V like this: softball pros and cons?

4 - I'd like the photo to be a little more creative than what we usually get from the company we use for our league photos in the spring where they always have half the team kneeling and the other half standing behind with the coaches flanking the back row and everyone squared to the camera - they look terrible and stiff and so completely boring. There are no stands to use, just the benches in the dugouts but those are fenced in. I can bring a stool or stepladder if needed.