How to shoot dilapidated buildings.

MonicaBH

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
More north of south, but more south of north.
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
There are multiple old, run down buildings (barns, houses) in my vicinity and I have taken a profound interest in them recently.

As I am a newbie to photography, what pointers can you give me to shoot these the best way possible? Most of them are white and are in fields, as you'd expect.

What lens would be best for them? I am planning on going early(ish) in the morning or later in the afternoon... do you think that's optimal?

Thanks in advance.

I went around and did the same thing the other day. I found myself using a 28-135, but a 50mm would be suitable if the house is far enough away from the road. Is this similar to what you want to take?

tumblr_lfvjkpMp4n1qehfxwo1_1280.jpg

5D @ 28mm, 1/250 sec, f/5, ISO 100

I would go at dawn or sunset to try and capture that along with the building

HDR ( normal, not the surreal overprocessed kind ) should help. Many times old buildings have many varying nooks and crannys, textures, and over grown foliage in the vacinity as well as rust, peeling paint etc. I think HDR really helps show the variance in tones that arw typically occuring because of all of these variables. Although I am sure many times, one exposure would be just fine. I would think a 16-50mm or so would be perfect.

Early morning/later afternoon is generally regarded as the best time for out-door shooting. It's often referred to as the 'Golden hour' for the warm tone that the light has.

The way I would approach this is to scout the location(s) and see how they're situated in relation to the rising/setting sun. Note the location, direction and density of the shadows, and take some test-shots. Head home, and review the test, and then formulate your shooting plan.