I have no experience with lighting, where to start?

topazsol

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
All of my photo shoots have been outdoors but now I have an opportunity to use a great space as a temporary studio. I can use it whenever I like for free, as long as I take all my equipment with me when I leave.

So I want to experiment! I have only used natural light so far. What kind of lighting equipment should I buy? Should I buy a lighting kit and just take it from there? Any links or advice would be appreciated, thanks.

What kind of budget are you talking about?

I almost always used supplimental lighting when I shot outside.
In fact, I usually used more lighting and light modifying gear when I was shooting outside, than I did when I was shooting inside.

I was never given access to the ambient lighting controls outside (sun, clouds, weather, etc), which is why it usually took more gear.

I guess my budget is around $500, just to buy simple equipment to start off with.

Light Science & Magic and Strobist are two great places to start and probably keep coming back in the future as you go through the learning process. I'm still starting to make sense of all this myself, but you can learn the basics with just using an off-camera flash and some sort of diffusion material like a sheet.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Do you have a speedlight for your camera now or not? I almost always recommend a good, camera-brand speedlight as the first piece of lighting kit anyone should get. Once you've got that, then you can add on in a number of ways... my preferred lighting gear for most situations now are my big bag of old SunPak 3 and 500 series hammerhead flashes... Very versatile, can use AA batteries or 120 adaptor, guide numbers in the 130+ range... and cheap like borscht on eBay and Craig's List.

My #1 recommendation -On sale - Calumet Genesis 200 2-Light Kit