I just purchased a new TOY!!!!!

havoc

Jedi something or other
Reaction score
I just got my hands on a nice Crown Graphic 4x5 camera. It comes with a nice case, the press flash with 5 bulbs, and 5 Film holders. I am completely new to LF and would love any advice i can get. I have been the the LF site that is sited elswhere on the forum and it has helped. But real life experiences would be ultimatly more valuable i think.

A question on the flash for Matt or whoever could prolly answer it. Do the bulbss only last for one shot? I will prolly never use it but i am curious.

The cam also comes with the standard Ektar 127mm or 137mm can't remember which.

I am told there is few forward movements on this cam, but i was wnting if you can do a forward tilt at all? I know it will do a forward rise, but i am sure that a forward drop will be more useful in my photography. If not its cool, i guess i can drill a tripod hole in the top and flip the camera on its top for the right tilts.

Anyways i am really excited to get into this type of photography, it should teach me alot...

Done!

Photogoddess and I actually had a chance to use a 4x5 for the first time last night (neither of us had had a chance to use one before). It was a lot of fun, even if we both looked like a couple of noobs there for a few minutes! Thankfully, she had a polaroid back that we were able to learn with.

Definitely a different sense of accomplishment when using that cam as opposed to firing away with my DSLR! If only the film was less expensive :)

Yeah i hear that. I can't wait to get my hands on it though. I recently read an article about a photojournalist who took one on the democratic campain trail earlier this yr. He used only his Graphic 4x5 and got some amazing shots. Though all the other journalists were laughing at him for carrying around this beast and only snapping 4 shots to their 200. He got some shots that no DSLR or Medium format could do.

Oh BTW, thanks for moving the thread Chase :)