I wonder why...

mitake

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
... many photos posted on this forum suck so much, and yet they get very positive feedback?.. I'm new to this photo forum thing, and have been here for just a month, maybe I'm missing something?

:)

If you think a picture sucks, just say so. Nobody's stopping you. It's all in the tone, but I don't think there's a rule here that says you're only allowed to praise a picture.
But, I think the most of us here know that constructive criticism works better than merely saying that things suck. You should give it a try.

pascal

mitake said:
... many photos posted on this forum suck so much, and yet they get very positive feedback?.. I'm new to this photo forum thing, and have been here for just a month, maybe I'm missing something?

:)

well, I read (and wrote) some serious critizism, even saying that I do not like a photo at all.

however, since people are friendly in here, often we also find the good things in an image and not only the bad things. so for an image that won't make it into National Geographic you would still also get some positive feedback.

maybe it is just because we do not use the word "suck" .. but instead we make suggestions how to improve the picture ;)

Alex_B said:
maybe it is just because we do not use the word "suck" .. but instead we make suggestions how to improve the picture ;)

Yeah. Telling sombody something "sucks' is useless. Offering feedback as to what can be impoved upon is much more effective, not to mention polite.

"suck" is a word I would only use regarding my very own pictures ;)

OK, I've used the wrong word (English is not my mother tongue).
Apologies if anyone got offended.

But! nobody actually answered my question!

Anyway, just disregard this. It's been a tough day...

hmmm.. I think we did answer the question.