i would i do this?

skatephoto

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I am shooting portrait photography for one of my college classes and i was gonna try for a couple of shots to make a little home made studio type thing. the picture that i kinda want to get is one of my friend with a complete black background with only the side of his face lit up. does anyone have any suggestions on how to do this; how to expose him so the not dark part of him is exposed correctly while the rest is black. i guess i will need a black sheet or something for the background? i dont know any one have some suggestions? thanks

Black paper for the background. Put him near a window that has a lot of light coming in. Meter from the lit side of the face. That should do it - maybe.

I may really be talking out of my A$$ here, since I'm only getting into it.

BUT:

Window won't do IMO, cause the background will still show. Window is too large of a light source. You'll need a flash, a PC cord, a light stand... :D

Set your camera to max sync speed and dim the lights. This will make sure all minimum light is minimized.

Place the flash to the left of your subject. Place your subject away from the background. Make sure to put a curtain to minimize the light on the background.

Stuff like that.

What you want to do is classed as low key photography (dark or black background). Just in case you want to investigate further. Having never tried what you want to do, I agree with using the flash. You'll want a pitch black room to stop any light from reaching the dark side of the face. You'll want a black background to. I'd suggest, if you can get it, velvet. You may be able to borrow some from an art or design department. Black paper will do, but with velvet you won't have to worry about creases as much and I'd expect it to reflect less light. The only thing I can say about the flash is to make sure it is only aimed at the part you want highlighted.