Ideal Camera Settings

Scoremann

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok I'll start off by saying I am a complete novice when it comes to photography. My company has enlisted me take photos of some new products, hardwood floors, for our sales literature and sample materials. My final output size will vary but the largest size is going to be 13" x 9.75". The "best" camera I have available is a Sony DSC-W100, 8.1 Megapixel So I already realize at this size my highest resolution is only going to only be 251 dpi. (pixel dimensions are 3264 x 2448). My "studio" is a couple of pieces of painted drywall in the corner of our warehouse. There is a window that faces west. I have two 500w halogen work lights for lighting. I have been using white sheets to defuse the lighting. The goal is to show the most detail possible in the flooring itself. I plan to use Photoshop extensively to sharpen and reduce the noise in the images, but what would be the best setting on the camera to use? Is there an ideal placement of the lighting? Anything else that may help me?

Thank you,
Aaron

Last edited:
I tried your link and it says I don't have permission. You should use a photo hosting service like photobucket or flickr to show your photos.

As for the lighting, read up here if you have the time. I'm guessing most of your products are going to be very reflective so you'll have to try a variety of methods he describes on his site to reduce the glare while retaining the detail you need.

Welcome to the forum.

My first suggestion would be to consider hiring a professional photographer. If your company is serious about selling this hardwood, it may be a rather small investment compared to the potential returns.