Ilfosol S and thin negs?

kslagerman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello, I am just starting out with the 4x5 and developing at home because the lab at school is really crowded.

I have a decent working knowledge of the zone system and am almost positive I am exposing correctly but I am getting consistantly thin negs. I am using Ilfosol S (68-69F @ 7mins) with HP5+ 400. I am thinking there are two possibilities.. (not including the fact that I might be underexposing)

1. I have been reading that Ilfosol is sort of a lame developer when it comes to faster films like HP5+. We use HC-110 at school and I have had MUCH better results there. Could this developer be causing the thin negs?

or

2. The lens on my 4x5 is rather old (has the old shutter speeds like 400, 200, 100, 50 etc etc) and I am not 100% sure that the shutter's timer is accurate. I definatley know that is bad at anything over a 1/2 sec. Maybe it is underexposing? I would tend to think that if the shutter's timer was sticking or going bad, it would slow down and over expose, rather than speed up and under expose.

I attatched a pic to show what Im talking about. (pls ignore the fact that its fogged and wasnt loaded into the camera properly, its the only one i have on hand right now :p)

Any thoughs?

Thanks!

DSC_1624.JPG

I would agree. Switching developers will be a lot cheaper than thinking you need to upgrade lenses. If you have gotten good results with HC-110 with your setup, go back to that. If you still have a problem, then you'll need to try something else. :)

Welcome to TPF! I'd love to see some of your 4x5 prints.

Looks like a developer problem, if you still have some of the Ilfosol S developer left you could increase your temp and time. You would need to test to get the right mix. Once you use it up I would go back to the HC-110 that are are having better results with.